Do you love the spoken word?

Audio books are great for listening to when commuting, exercising, walking, or when you are just in the mood to listen to a story (nothing beats it!). Susan narrates all of her audio books. Enjoy her wonderful style.

audio books
Lily's Song audio book

 In Lily’s Song, a mother’s secrets, a daughter’s dream, and a family’s loyalty are masterfully interwoven in this much anticipated sequel to Amazon and Nook #1 bestseller The Secret Sense of Wildflower.“Wildflower” McAllister’s daughter, Lily, now 14, struggles with her mother’s reluctance to tell her who her father is. When a stranger appears on the family doorstep, drunk and evoking ghosts from the past, it threatens to break the close-knit McAllister family apart.

Meanwhile, Wildflower has a deep secret of her own. When Lily discovers it by accident, it changes everything she thought she knew about her mother. The events that follow silence the singing she dreamed of sharing with the world.

With her signature metaphors, Gabriel weaves a compelling tale that captures the resilience and strength of both mother and daughter, as secrets revealed test their strong bond and ultimately change their lives forever.

Set in 1956 southern Appalachia, Lily’s Song stands on its own, and readers who are new to Gabriel will be drawn into the world she so skillfully depicts. As a sequel, it will captivate fans of The Secret Sense of Wildflower (a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2012), who have eagerly awaited more.

Listen to a free sample and get Lily’s Song audio book on Amazon or Audible.

Temple Secrets

Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets by acclaimed author, Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2012 and an Amazon #1 Bestseller).

In Savannah, Georgia, one woman holds all the secrets. When she dies of a possible voodoo curse, the secrets start coming out. The ghosts are upset. And for the Temple family women, everything is about to change forever.

Aristocratic, 80-year-old Iris Temple has a fondness for exotic meats and her poison-pen Book of Secrets keeps her family and all of Savannah’s elites in line. Shortly after Iris dies, compromising tidbits from the Book of Secrets are mysteriously published in the newspaper and the quiet lives of the Temple family women explode.

Iris’s estranged daughter, Rose, escaped to Wyoming 20 years ago and married a cowboy. Will she accept the outrageous terms of the will?

Queenie, Iris’s black half-sister, lives in the historic family mansion, suffering Iris’s arrogant ways as her personal assistant. After all she’s tolerated with Iris, will she inherit the mansion, as promised?

100-year-old Old Sally, who keeps the old Gullah traditions alive, is Queenie’s mother by her white employer, Iris’s father. For Rose, she is the mother Iris could never be. Did Old Sally put a voodoo curse on Iris?

When they discover who will inherit the historic family mansion and Iris’s multi-million- dollar estate, the whole boisterous business of secrets forces the women into challenging – and sometimes hilarious – situations as they put the past to rest and forge a brighter future.

Temple Secrets is Southern gothic fiction at its best. If you like strong women, plots full of twists and turns, characters who are funny and unpredictable, and sibling rivalry of biblical proportions, you’ll love Susan Gabriel’s rollicking tale of the cost of keeping secrets, the healing that comes with their exposure and the bliss of coming home again.

Listen to a free sample and get Temple Secrets audio book on Amazon or Audible.

Temple Secrets got me through mowing 8 acres yesterday! I was listening to it on Audible, and I’m sure people wondered what the cackling old broad on the mower was laughing about!!

😆

Beth Phillips

The Secret Sense of Wildflower

LISTEN TO A FREE SAMPLE on Audible or Amazon

A girl coming-of-age faces danger, death and new life in 1940s Appalachia.

Kirkus-starThe Secret Sense of Wildflower received a starred review from Kirkus Reviews 

Named to Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of 2012!

“In this novel, life turns toward a dark horizon for a precocious adolescent grieving for her father in 1941 Tennessee.

“It’s difficult to harbor secrets in a rural mountain town of maybe 80 souls, especially when adult siblings live within spitting distance of the family home. Most of the townsmen work at the sawmill, and most of the young women have been harassed at one time or another by creepy Johnny Monroe. But Louisa May McAllister, nicknamed Wildflower, knows that revealing her frequent forays to the cemetery, where she talks to her beloved late father, would only rile her embittered mother. She also knows to hide her “secret sense,” as it would evoke scorn from all save eccentric Aunt Sadie, who shares her tomboy niece’s gift.

“Those secrets come at a cost when, on one of her graveyard visits, Louisa May ignores her premonition of danger. The consequences—somewhat expected yet still horrific—are buffered by the visions into which the 13-year-old escapes. Sharp-witted, strong, curious and distrustful of authority figures not living up to her standards—including God—Louisa May immerses us in her world with astute observations and wonderfully turned phrases, with nary a cliché to be found. She could be an adolescent Scout Finch, had Scout’s father died unexpectedly and her life taken a bad turn.

“Though her story is full of pathos and loss, her sorrow is genuine and refreshingly free of self-pity. She accepts that she and her mother are “like vinegar and soda, always reacting,” that her best friend has grown distant, and that despite the preacher’s condemnation, a young suicide victim should be sent “to the head of heaven’s line.” Her connection to the land—a presence as vividly portrayed as any character—makes her compassionate but tough; she’s as willing to see trees as angels as she is to join her brothers-in-law in seeking revenge. By necessity, Louisa May grows up quickly, but by her secret sense, she also understands forgiveness. A quietly powerful story, at times harrowing but ultimately a joy to read.”

The worlds of family, friendship, mourning, and love are explored in this moving, often humorous, novel about healing and hope. A character-driven novel reminiscent of the work of Reynolds Price in its ability to create a truly original Southern voice, The Secret Sense of Wildfloweris certain to be embraced by fans of Sue Monk Kidd (The Secret Life of Bees) and Harper Lee (To Kill A Mockingbird).

Grace, Grits and Ghosts: Southern Short Stories

This delightful collection of southern short stories from acclaimed writer, Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Best Book of 2012 by Kirkus Reviews), is rich in humor, as well as mystery and meaning.

Whether white or black, living or dead, down home country or upscale urban, Gabriel’s characters are quirky, poignant and deep. They include: A Gullah woman using folk magic to cast her latest spell. A girl coming-of-age dealing with death in 1940s Tennessee. A wealthy Savannah matriarch with gastrointestinal issues guarding family secrets. A good ol’ boy observing himself shortly after his death. An agoraphobic woman striking up a unique friendship with the girl across the street. And a band of seventy-year-olds finding healing in a mountain stream.

Written in the tradition of Flannery O’Connor and Eudora Welty, the eight short stories in Grace, Grits and Ghosts: Southern Short Stories are all rooted in the southern landscape—from the steamy coast of Georgia, to the current day Atlanta suburbs, to the ancient Appalachian Mountains of North Carolina.

Pull up a rocker on the front porch, take a sip of your sweet iced tea and lose yourself in these original stories of soulful southerners and their sultry landscape.

Listen to a free sample and get Grace, Grits and Ghosts audio book on Amazon or Audible.

Seeking Sara Summers

A Novel

In this elegant love story with a uniquely twenty-first-century twist, the reader is taken on a journey into the soul of relationship. Sara Summers Stanton has raised a family but her 25 year marriage is showing cracks in the facade and now she’s dealing with breast cancer.

In a rare moment of taking care of herself instead of everyone else, Sara takes a sabbatical and goes on the trip to Italy she has always dreamed of taking. This search for a more authentic life leads to Julia, a friend she hasn’t seen since they were inseparable as girls, nearly 30 years earlier. In Florence they reunite and their friendship continues where it left off. An unexpected attraction to one another threatens to turn Sara’s already shaky world upside down.

Sara’s inner conflict and subsequent choices reveal an unpredictable yet dynamic future for everyone affected. An emotional and lyrical novel, Seeking Sara Summers is a timeless story about commitment, transformation and love.

Listen to a free sample and get Seeking Sara Summers audio book on Amazon and Audible.

seeking sara summers

Circle of the Ancestors

Finding a rare treasure brings trouble and transformation to a coming-of-age boy in this novel by Amazon #1 bestselling southern author Susan Gabriel.

Thirteen-year-old Sam lives on a reservation in North Carolina with his beloved grandmother who teaches him the Cherokee ways. To honor his ancestors, Sam hikes to a nearby sacred mountain where he encounters a red-tailed hawk and has a life-threatening fall off a steep trail. Bruised and shaken, he lands at the roots of an ancient oak tree where he discovers, tangled in the roots, an extremely rare star ruby.

When news of the ruby gets out, he confronts bullies and thieves before connecting with a renowned gemstone expert to determine the ruby’s value. In the meantime, Sam calls on his circle of ancestors to help him decide the fate of his treasure. Their message takes him far beyond the boundaries of his home where he will discover if the ruby is a blessing or a curse.

Listen to a free sample and get Circle of the Ancestors audio book on Amazon or Audible.

Quentin and the Cave Boy

The STONE Age meets the TEENage! Quentin Moss is an average 13-year-old boy with an anything-but-average problem: the cave boy he dreamed about last night has shown up, alive and smelly, in his bedroom. As past and present collide with comic consequences, Quentin must hide the secret identity of his new friend who is fascinated by zippers and loves to flush the toilet — over and over again. Before the day is over, Quentin and his best friend, Buzz, have to find a way to help the homesick cave boy get back to his home — thousands of years in the past. But first they have to get through the school day.  Quentin may not be the cutest, smartest guy in school, but the way he deals with the greatest adventure of his life will have readers of all ages laughing out loud.

Listen to a free sample and get Quentin and the Cave Boy audio book on Amazon and Audible.

 

Copyright © 2015 Susan Gabriel, All rights reserved

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares